Original Poetry: Calling the Boys Home (Part 8)

[From Feb. 08 – Mar. 08, I will be releasing the nine sections of my longer narrative poem, “Calling the Boys Home.” One section will be posted each Sunday and Wednesday. The sections alternate between two different timelines occurring in the same location. Start with “Calling the Boys Home” (Part 1)]

“Calling the Boys Home”

viii.
Grand Kate stepped into the back garden
to hang towels in what she hoped
was a dry couple of hours. She glanced
thankful at the nearly cloudless sky.
As sure as the rains will come,
Rachael should be headed to my pub.

          ***

“Katie, it’s good to see you, it is. We’ve
missed you while you were away. How’s
the new husband? He’s a lucky man,
he is.” “Good, good. And of course,
I missed the whole lot of you. But now,
finish up those pints and be gone
with you. It’s past half ten and I’ve
a husband to join.” “He’s a lucky man
indeed. But don’t leave us again, Katie,
or we’ll have to go looking for him.”
“Oh, I’ll be around for some months more,
but then—well, I won’t be able
to clean up after you then. Now,
hurry up, your mothers’ll be worried
for you.” “A baby? Katie, Congratulations.
You don’t look it yet.” “Cheers.
But now hurry up, I don’t live at the pub,
I just work here.” In a quiet nook,
a contemplative Dylan Thomas pauses
above a scrawled-upon bar napkin.
“A love poem to me, I hope.” Pocketing
the napkin, “Of course, Katherine. Sending
me home to my wife, are you? It is
that time. I’m done with my glass.”
“I don’t mean to rush you, Dylan.”
“Here’s to your new life unfolding.”

Katie watches the pub wind down
and lock-up for the night. Turning,
she feels the fresh night breeze deep within
her lungs. She looks over a sleeping valley,
a restless bay.
 
 
 
“Calling the Boys Home” (Part 1)
“Calling the Boys Home” (Part 2)
“Calling the Boys Home” (Part 3)
“Calling the Boys Home” (Part 4)
“Calling the Boys Home” (Part 5)
“Calling the Boys Home” (Part 6)
“Calling the Boys Home” (Part 7)
Part 9 will be posted on Sunday, March 8th.
 
 
[Check out other original poems here.]

Leave a Reply

