Review: Red Rising

This is my pick for anyone looking for a great book to gift this holiday season. It is very well written. The 2nd in the series will come out in January. This book also won Best Debut Novel 2014 on Goodreads, a well-deserved win.

Jaffalogue

Red Rising
Red Rising by Pierce Brown
My rating: 4 of 5 stars

I read this book immediately after finishing The Name of the Wind (The Kingkiller Chronicle, #1) by Patrick Rothfuss. Admittedly, that’s a tough act to follow. As a reader, I jump genres often so while I have read some sci-fi, I would not consider myself a sci-fi reader. That said, I enjoyed where this book took me and will definitely be looking for the next in the series to come out.

Early sections of the book had me thinking of The City of Ember (Book of Ember, #1) by Jeanne DuPrau, the Harry Potter books by J.K. Rowling [mostly due to the author’s notes] and The Hunger Games Trilogy by Suzanne Collins. The latter deserves comparison, though I was glad that Red Rising quickly established how it was different than a fantasy. The story felt organic and more fully filled…

View original post 123 more words

Leave a Reply

