Review: Monster Hunter International

Monster Hunter International
Monster Hunter International by Larry Correia
My rating: 3 of 5 stars

I received a copy of this book when I participated in the Writers’ Symposium at Gen Con this year. While I recently have enjoyed some fantasy books (The Lies of Locke Lamora by Scott Lynch and The Name of the Wind (The Kingkiller Chronicle, #1) by Patrick Rothfuss, in particular), I am not normally one to reach for a Monsters & Guns book. However, Patrick Rothfuss recently reviewed this book giving it top marks, so I became curious to read it.

I liked it. That is actually saying something, because I am not a gun person. I am the opposite of a gun person. I’ve never touched one, and don’t want to. Some people recoil at the thought of spiders and snakes, for me it’s guns. I belabor the point, but this is a story of guns first, characters second. The protagonist, Owen, loves them; the author loves them. Everyone in the book geeks out over them. But even if one happens to not be a card-carrying member of the NRA, one can enjoy this book.

The book IS enjoyable. While the characters are a little formulaic, the plot is less so which keeps it interesting. Some POV playfulness in the form of spirit-walks, or dream-walks, also works to keep the novel fresh and fun.

To be clear, this book is NOT written with the finesse of the afore-mentioned books which I’ve previously read and reviewed. This is pulp fiction in the fashion of a Michael Bay movie. It is pure escapist fun rather than beautiful prose. Sometimes that is okay, and worthy of the price of admission and a few stars.
 
 
 
[Check out my other reviews here.]

Leave a Reply

